The Light and the Dark


If you follow my blog, you may have noticed I haven’t posted much lately.  I have a damn good reason.

The light and the dark.

The duality of human consciousness.  The core of existence.  The perfect balance within us all.

Or is it?

I started my blog tiptoeing that delicate balance between the light and the dark.  Prudent in presenting the more polished side of my character and virtue.  You’ve read it in the posts about my own father and daughter.  The unique spin I employ sharing my world.  My thoughts.  But dare I shamefully admit I have not been honest.

Would you believe me if I told you amidst that superficial harmony drummed the glorious cadence of a heart void of all pigment and tone…a terrible absence of all you have ever come to know.  Something beyond that which the sun can touch.  Something far more gluttonous than the gloam.

Something that has taken notice.

You might have seen it.  It has appeared, fleetingly, within my pages.  And always…always…I have restrained it.  Even as its choker rubbed raw my bleeding hands.

Within all of us exists the light and the dark.

For some, there is something far worse in between.

I haven’t posted much lately.  I have a damned good reason.

Pen of the Damned.

They are coming…

So the Tale Weaver speaks.

16 thoughts on “The Light and the Dark

  1. Damned dark indeed! As the Tale Weaver speaks, so shall we listen!

  2. Angela says:

    I love that it made me understand… Why my light has a dark….love it. ..I am not alone

  3. Blaze McRob says:

    I believe this part of Joe will prove to be most interesting. Most indeed!

    Blaze

  4. Madison Woods says:

    Good to know you’ve just been feeding your dark side.

  5. Paul D. Dail says:

    Very curious indeed. I’ve been interested in the duality of the horror writer. On one hand, we can be the kindest people one could hope to meet. Yet we write some of the most dastardly content one could imagine. For me, when I’m not writing, it comes out in horrible nightmares.

    Maybe it’s opening ourselves up to the darkness that makes the light shine so bright.

    Again, I’ll be curious to see where you’re going with this.

    Paul D. Dail
    http://www.pauldail.com- A horror writer’s not necessarily horrific blog

  6. I like the Dark ….sometimes things look much better there than in the light.
    Let’s see what the Dark Side of you has to say…..
    Staury:)

  7. You speak of the duality that resides in all of us, for some, an easy association can be made between light and dark, we fight when we must, and when the fight is no more we return to peace. For others, the darkness remains a constant reminder of what we are capable of, and what we fear most, in others, as well as ourselves. I have stared into darkness my friend, and I know what she holds.. Have you ?

Leave a Reply

