Joseph A. Pinto

author of horror & poetic prose


Stephen King said:  “If the stuff you’re writing is not for yourself, it won’t work.”

I write because I’m possessed to do so.  Something gnaws at my brain; an emotion or image or thought repeating itself which just won’t go away.  And then I sit & express it.  No road maps.  No “let’s draft it out before I actually write this.”  I fly by the seat of my pants.  It’s what I’m used to.  It starts with a vision, continues with a generous offering of confidence & is sealed by the power of faith.  I write to first & foremost entertain myself.  If I succeed in entertaining you as well, well then that’s just icing on the cake.   

I have a story to tell.  It’s what my mind shouts when I’m behind the keyboard.  I don’t write a specific submission for publication into a market, or in hopes that the next agent or publishing house will discover my work; I write because I have a story to tell

And so… I have a story to tell.  And it all started with the random words, “O Me O My.”

I was wandering my house some time ago, when for unknown reasons, the words “O Me O My” ambushed my mind.  When things like that happen, I know enough that it’s time to take heed, because something’s coming down the pike.  I jotted the phrase into my notebook.  A few days later, I quickly typed out, “He wakes, the incessant din between his ears like gurgling rapids.”  That’s all it took.  Ready for takeoff.

I mentioned in my prior blog post, “Birth of a Tale Weaver,” that more often than not, a piece of me gets ripped away & is forever embedded into each of my stories.  I believe that’s what makes some of my horror fiction unique.  It doesn’t just scare; there’s heart & soul in it.  It bleeds, it ba-bump ba-bump still beats.

Upon finalizing “O Me O My,” I found I subconsciously questioned my place in my daughter’s life, & how she will perceive me when she’s older.  What, if any, of my own life will still be mine, & how much would I sacrifice for her? 

O Me O My” is much more than a zombie story. 

It’s a very disturbing zombie story.

Without further ado… on a very special limited basis for Halloween 2010… I offer for your reading delight, “O Me O My,” found only at www.josephpinto.com  (please click the link & gorge yourself)

 

"O Me O My", free for a limited time at http://www.josephpinto.com

 

Leave a Reply

