Joseph A. Pinto

#barflypoet & author of dark fiction


Okay, it’s time to share a bit of creative writing – for all those in my “critique group,” please enjoy “Rubberneck” at www.josephpinto.com

Story ideas come to me at the strangest of times, & I’ve learned never to hinder my mind’s ability to channel plots & images once they start rolling, no matter when it might occur or where I may be.  “Rubberneck” hit me while staring at an endless sea of taillights stuck in a traffic jam driving down the shore last summer.  Sure, I was letting loose eloquent chords of “What the f*** is going on here?!” and “Why can’t you motherf****** just drive already!” as I went into meltdown mode (do I suffer just a bit from road rage?  Naaaaah!), but you better believe I was piecing elements of the story together while I ranted.  Ten minutes and a unique fusion of multiple Italian curse words later, my story was complete.

Some stories are just plain fun to write & are not meant to have deeper meaning or hidden messages between the prose.  I write them to entertain because damn they entertain me; like a dog snatching its chewy toy between frothing teeth, I want to shake you for all your worth.

Normal, everyday people (with quirks, of course), appeal to me; I can’t resist the challenge of capturing the raw emotion & stark honesty one will exude when faced with a most abnormal situation.  It’s sheer joy, a horror writer’s dark bliss, & I hope it shines through in my tales.

So head over to www.josephpinto.com and give it a read.  If you’d like to enjoy “Rubberneck” but are not part of my critique group, then please subscribe to my WordPress blog, & I’ll email you the simple directions.  If you’re already a member but have forgotten your user id or password, give me a shout & I’ll refresh it.  Don’t forget to let me know what you think!

Cheers!

One thought on ““Rubberneck” free for my critique group at www.josephpinto.com

Leave a Reply

