Joseph A. Pinto

#barflypoet & author of dark fiction


It’s not always horror fiction for me.  Sometimes I’ll take my pad & pen & scribble random thoughts down.  I enjoy plucking nothing from the air & making something out of it.  If I’m lucky, I’ll finish with a poem.  Or a song.  Now, I’m not saying that they’re any good.  I’m only saying that I’m good at taking my pad & pen & scribbling random thoughts down.  So by all means, you be the judge.

I wrote this sitting at a wine bar one night.  I don’t remember the wine (a Malbec?), but I remember the imagery associated with this little poem.  When I was done, I felt compelled to walk the streets…

CRACK WHORE

Crack whore

wants more

than I could give.

Took all I had

never left sad

knows I’m worse off than she.

Walks the streets

the rain

makes her reflection

look like two or three.

Says she’s sorry for me

makes me think

the tricks

she turns

am I the biggest?

She’s my crack whore

living

while I die.

Pants down

on her knees

sucks my dreams dry

while I fill her with false belief.

Yeah, she’s good at that

better to be good at something

than nothing at all.

Daybreak wrapped in stale sheets

she’s sweet nectarine blush atop cheap perfume skin

yeah, we all wanted more

yeah, I wanted anything at all.

Copyright © 2011 Joseph A. Pinto – All Rights Reserved.

4 thoughts on “Crack Whore

  1. I wondered upon this thru a tweet very random. I like your style

    1. Thank you very much! I hope you come back again soon! =)

  2. Great imagery Joe! Very intriguing, and emotionally haunting.

    1. Thanks for reading, Nina 🙂 “Crack Whore” was one of those things that just popped into my mind; it was too persistent to ignore.

Leave a Reply

