Joseph A. Pinto

author of horror & poetic prose


Writing my blog is a bit of a trick.  Like a magician, I employ smoke & mirrors.  Not that I’m attempting to mislead you.  No, not by a longshot.  But more often than not, I fill the pages of my horror blog with anything but horror.  I’ve mentioned before that I’m trying to strike the right balance of some story excerpts here or there, or possibly even a flash fiction piece written especially for my blog (much like my flash piece “Judge” in my previous post).  You guys know I’m uncomfortable “selling” myself, yet I have to push to do just that.

Here’s the thing…something I’m beginning to hear more often – and that’s that you think I’m different.  Well, I’m different in my approach.  I want you to slowly grow to know me.  Me.  The man.  If there’s anything to learn from me, anything to remember, it’s this: I’m not a one trick pony.  I don’t want you to have the horror.  I want you to have the man.  And only then will the horror be yours…

I wrote this song some time ago.  Spoke with a friend of mine who was having some relationship issues.  The man she was involved with was anything but involved with her.  By her accounts, he treated her very poorly, yet she felt powerless to do a thing.  We’ve all been there, haven’t we?  In some form or another?  I know I have.

I gave her the best advice I could.  That’s what friends do.  But I hurt for her.  I sat down one night & penned this with the thought of giving her some empowerment from afar.  Needless to say, one must choose one’s own course of action.  I’ll never speak ill of my friend.  She chose to keep the guy.

But I got to keep the song…

West Coast Masquerade

How could this happen again

How could he do this again, she asks

all alone

She’s all alone.

She won’t go though this again

Won’t stick this through to the end

all alone

She’s all alone.

So she straightens out her makeup

and paints the smile back on her face

Rehearses the words she’s going to tell him

Rehearses the way she’s going to say

I’m throwing you back where you belong

I’m throwing you back where you belong

to your callous pals and their snobby gals

I’m through with this west coast masquerade.

I’m throwing you back where you belong

Back where you belong

to your momma’s side where you always hide

I’m through with this west coast masquerade.

She bears the mileage from home

Yet he’s never made her feel home, she knows

all alone

She’s all alone.

So she straightens out her makeup

 and paints the smile back on her face

Rehearses the words she’s going to tell him

Rehearses the way she’s going to say

I’m throwing you back where you belong

I’m throwing you back where you belong

 to your callous pals and their snobby gals

I’m through with this west coast masquerade.

Cause I’m throwing you back where you belong

Back where you belong

to your momma’s side where you always hide

I’m through with this west coast masquerade.

So she straightens out her makeup

and paints the smile back on her face

Tonight’s the night she’ll finally leave him

Tonight’s the night she’ll finally say

I’m throwing you back where you belong

I’m throwing you back where you belong

with your rolling eyes and your alibis

I’m so done with this west coast masquerade.

Cause I’m throwing you back where you belong

Back where you belong

to your callous pals and their snobby gals

 I’m through with this west coast masquerade.

I’m through with this west coast masquerade.

I’m over this west coast masquerade.

Copyright © 2012 Joseph A. Pinto – All Rights Reserved.

23 thoughts on “West Coast Masquerade

  1. Blaze McRob says:

    Nice song and a great post, Joe. I agree that all of us have been in the shoes of this young lady in one form or another. Leaving is not always easy to do; complications, ah, the little buggers abound. But sometimes, walking out that door must be done and can’t wait.

    Walking into the world of Joe Pinto, relishing what he says, and finding his heart and soul, is a reversal: for the good.

    Happy writing, my friend.

    Blaze

    1. Thank you, Blaze. It’s a wonder that the most obvious paths to take in life are many times the hardest.
      I’m telling you, once you move & if we can get together, there’s a story & song session awaiting!

      1. Blaze McRob says:

        Stories and songs are where it’s at, Joe! I can hardly wait!

        Blaze

  2. Lucinda Rose says:

    Amazing song – I love its message. Thank you for once again sharing a bit of you with us.

    1. Aww thank you, Lu 🙂 Hopefully it will still sound amazing even after I sing it lol And it’s easier to share knowing that you appreciate the sharing 🙂

  3. snagglewordz says:

    Listening, friends can do, advice too – but action? No, only your friend can do that and only when she’s ready. So, when’s the music video gonna be posted?

    1. Hi Tracey, thanks for commenting 🙂 Well, I’ll post a music video as soon as I get Goo Goo Dolls, Duncan Shiek or Dashboard Confessional (ever hear?) to take it to studio lol

  4. AKMamma says:

    *sniffle* I just sent this to three friends going through something so similar! Beautiful!

    1. 🙂 I appreciate that, Kriss…but I hope it helps your friends, even just a little

  5. “Yes We’ve all been there…. In some form or another” ….Every relationship is a power struggle and sometimes the weak person win…but unfortunately, very rare…… i love tis Post Joe and the song is amazing ….. yes you are Different …in a Very Good way … so don’t change yourself ……S

    1. You’ve quickly become my #1 fan from Cyprus, Staury!! 🙂 Thank you, & I can’t even express how appreciative I am that you take the time to read my posts 🙂

  6. rosereads says:

    Third time is a charm… I really love this song and as you know it resonates with me. I hope that the current song of my life ends happily.

    It also reminds me of a student who I helped get out a bad situation and then returned for a while. I felt like I had failed until the day she walked back into my classroom and told me how well she was doing. An apartment of her own, a good job and school starting up soon.

    1. 🙂 you’ll be okay, Lu. Keep projecting strength & share with others, & it will come back ten-fold in turn to you without ever realizing it

  7. What an emotive and heartfelt song. You are one talented man 🙂

    1. Wow, I really appreciate that, Dionne. I’m happy you felt its impact sans the music 🙂

  8. Hunter Shea says:

    Now that’s a friend! Really nice song.

    1. Hi Hunter, thanks for visiting! Appreciate the kindness; sometimes songs & poetry are a good way to balance out the horror within

  9. Wow.. I really love this.. I can relate to being in an unfulfilled relationship and “painting the smile back on my face” (what a great line!) a lot. This is a wonderful post and you have given me some food for thought.

    1. Hi Darlene Thank you very much! I’m sorry that you can “relate,” – I don’t think it’s a good place for anyone to be in. But remember you are much stronger than you can ever think, & sometimes you need to realize when to throw someone “back where they belong.”

  10. gffrost says:

    Lovely!

  11. J Lawrence says:

    I’ve just returned from a lovely, relaxing holiday in the Alps to find I’ve been awarded the Liebster (Loved / Beloved / Favorite ) Blog Award by the wonderful http://dianemdickson.wordpress.com This award is to recognize bloggers who have less than 200 followers and aims to give them something of a deserving spotlight. There are some guidelines that have to be followed while giving or receiving the Award.
    The rules for receiving the award:

    Thank the giver and link back to the blogger who gave it to you.
    Reveal your top five picks and let them know by leaving a comment on their blog.
    Copy and paste the award on your blog.
    Hope that the people you’ve sent the award to forward it to their favorite bloggers and keep it going!

    Liebster Blog Award!The five blogs I would like to nominate for the award are (in no particular order)

    http://envisioningutopia.wordpress.com

    https://josephpinto.wordpress.com

    http://hettyfrancis.wordpress.com

    http://dldzioba.wordpress.com

    http://cmatthewes.com

    All of these I enjoy reading, for various reasons. I’m still relatively new to blogging, and on some of these blogs I can’t see if they have more than 200 followers, so apologies if that’s the case 🙂

  12. I found your blog! I totally understand what you mean about not feeling comfortable in selling yourself, I hate that too, I tend to just write, be myself and hope people don’t feel the urge to throw stuff at me 😉 And I love the song!

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you very much, Lindsey! 🙂 I’d rather my work itself do the selling (lol), but you have to get it “out there,” so to speak. That said, I’ll put just enough out there to “share” rather than “sell.” It’s a big difference…to me, anyway.

      Glad you enjoyed the song. I know it’s hard to grasp w/o music behind it. One day, I hope to upload an acoustic version. But my intent is not the music (I’m a horror writer, ya know! lol), but rather the power behind my words.

Leave a Reply

