Joseph A. Pinto

author of horror & poetic prose


Another of my songs…

Get Myself Warm

I’ve got a bullet on the table right next to me,

But my brain’s already loaded with lead.

Cause I’ve taken more shots than I care for,

And I’ve since been left here for dead.

Sooner or later I’ll rise again

Push myself up from the ground

Before new shots ring out, please leave me some whiskey

So I can at least get myself warm.

I’ve got an arrow on the chair just across from me,

But my heart’s been pierced by this sword.

I should learn not to play with these sharp toys,

Lest I strike this same sorry old chord.

Sooner or later I’ll rise again

Push myself up from the ground

Before new shots ring out, please leave me some whiskey

So I can at least get myself warm.

I don’t recall wearing this bull’s-eye

I don’t recall wearing this mark

Is it something I can purge myself free of

Or am I destined to suffer this course?

I’ve got a bullet on the table right next to me,

But my brain’s already loaded with lead.

Cause I’ve taken more shots than I care for,

And I’ve since been left here for dead.

Sooner or later I’ll rise again

Push myself up from the ground

Before new shots ring out, please leave me some whiskey

So I can at least get myself warm.

Sooner or later I’ll rise again

Push myself up from the ground

Before new shots ring out, please leave me some whiskey

So I can at least get myself warm.

Copyright © 2012 Joseph A. Pinto – All Rights Reserved.

West Coast Masquerade

16 thoughts on “Get Myself Warm

  1. Sounds like a mix of Blues and C&W to me. :0}

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Lynn, thanks for stopping by! I don’t have music to accompany this yet (yet another goal on the ole Things To Do list), but yes, this song definitely has that blues/mix of c&w element. I write (and as far as music, hum lol) whatever pops into mind, so I never know what I’m going to get. But that’s the fun of it all! 🙂

  2. Hunter Shea says:

    Great lyrics. I have a speed metal composition in my head to go with it.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thanks buddy! By all means, lets collaborate then; any excuse to bang my head is fine by me

  3. moondustwriter says:

    since I am in a dark mood this one hits home
    Joseph what a meaningful song – get it published!

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you very much, Leslie 🙂
      In my spare time I enjoy writing free verse poetry & songs…I’d like to record some music to this one day; acoustic guitar would do this just fine

  4. Daydreamer says:

    I love the lyrics! Haunting and beautiful! Guess that’s why my friends tell me I’m twisted. 🙂

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you! Twisted is a wonderful thing and something only the twisted can appreciate 🙂
      I just “fool around” with song lyrics and poetry, but it is a great outlet for me. It allows my horror fiction to flow that much easier
      I appreciate you stopping over 🙂

      1. Daydreamer says:

        😀 If that’s just fooling around, I’d love to see when you get serious! The pleasure is all mine! Again, I love it!

      2. Joseph Pinto says:

        You’re very kind, thank you! 🙂 You should visit the writing group I started, http://www.penofthedamned.com
        Click on the category box, scroll down to my name & check out ‘Dissections 1,’ my angst ridden poetry collection. (and don’t be shy, check out my other works when you can)

      3. Daydreamer says:

        Been there! 😉 I followed it and your other writers. I’d be happy to visit again though! Have you checked out my other pages?

      4. Joseph Pinto says:

        Yes I have! Followed them as well and I greatly enjoy! 🙂

  5. moondustwriter says:

    How do you thank friends who on bad days encourage you to keep writing? You say thanks and express gratitude for their inspiration.
    Thanks Joseph

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank YOU, Leslie, for the beautiful prose you share. Even more beautiful is your willingness to expose who you are. I appreciate that like you wouldn’t believe 🙂

Leave a Reply

