Joseph A. Pinto

#barflypoet & author of dark fiction


Hello all!

I’m hoping you’ll take a few minutes and journey over to my writing group, The Pen of the DamnedI’m the featured author this week, and I’ve penned (pardon the pun) quite an interesting piece of prose titled ‘Grieve.’  It stems from my love of cemeteries; not all places of death are as dark and bleak as they seem.  Within these final resting grounds await magnificent treasures of history long gone.  There are many voices longing to be heard, forgotten echoes with stories to be shared.  You simply need to be open and in tune to hear them.  It’s all a matter of perception.

I started Pen of the Damned about 6 months ago.  My intent was, and still is, simple: provide readers a place for free horror fiction and dark works of angst-ridden prose and poetry.  We have a very eclectic lineup of 9 writers…some you may or may not have heard of…all with varying backgrounds and styles.  Each week, a new writer takes the mantle, and trust you me, you’re never quite sure what freakish delight we’re going to serve.

Our site is simple and clean.  Uncluttered.  If you’re looking for quality works of horror, well here you go.  We want nothing to get in the way as your mind succumbs to us.

In the coming weeks, I’ll be introducing you to the members of the Damned (as we prefer to call ourselves) here on my blog.  It’s a really great group of people.  But that doesn’t mean we won’t scare the living hell out of you.

So take my hand this week and meet the being that channels through me from time to time – The Tale Weaver.  He always has a twisted play of words to present, and he always conveys a much darker truth than you’re willing to admit.  Enjoy Grieve and while you’re at it, please subscribe to The Pen of the Damned.

We’ll be waiting for you…

25 thoughts on “‘Grieve’ on Pen of the Damned

  1. Great introductory post to Pen of the Damned Joe! And ‘Grieve’ is spectacularly haunting! A genuinely beautiful piece 🙂

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hey Nina! Thanks very much. We need to keep getting “our” word out there…Pen of the Damned is a unique new destination for unfiltered angst & horror. Step on up & get a steamin’ bowl!! 🙂 lol

      1. Joseph Pinto says:

        And thank you for the kind thoughts on ‘Grieve’

      2. Very true, if we don’t tell people where we are, they ain’t neva’ gonna’ find us!

      3. Joseph Pinto says:

        True dat, holmes! lol

  2. So I’m gonna be that girl, and be all: I don’t know about this font. The kerning seems a little off, and it’s not the easiest to read. It’s not difficult, there aren’t words that are messed up (like “climb” reading “dimb”) but it’s not my favorite. Full disclosure though, I have plebeian tastes in fonts, like TNR and Arial all the way baby.

    Also, something’s missing from the sidebar. Maybe one of the many awesome iterations of the Coffin Hop Badge. 😉 Seriously though, I wish us smut writers got cute badges like the ones you guys have.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Well hi there! Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂 I didn’t know my font was under investigation, otherwise I would’ve concocted an alibi for it! lol

      I was hoping that you’d read ‘Grieve,’ but in any event, I am personally not involved in the Coffin Hop, hence the lack of the Coffin Hop Badge. But my group Pen of the Damned is, & rest assured, a big ole CHB is staring out from the sidebar. 🙂

      1. I’m reading it. The rhythm of it reminds me a lot of poetry.

        I know, you didn’t ask for my thoughts on font. I guess I’d want someone to tell me if they were having trouble my font. I tuck in stranger’s tags as well. I guess I have boundary issues.

      2. Joseph Pinto says:

        Thank you 🙂 Yes, I do write with rhythm. One of those things that you don’t realize you’re doing until you go back and review

        It’s all good. Maybe the font issue is due to your server? Happens… I just haven’t had anyone say that they were having problems reading the font before. We can start over. Hi. I’m Joe, & I write kick ass horror fiction lol 🙂

  3. We are dragged into the limelight! It burns! It burns! Great post, Joe!

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      lmao Don’t worrry, Tom. I’ve got thick overcoats & shades prepared for the Damned! 😉

  4. Daemonwulf says:

    Sir Pintonater has drug us Damned Souls out of the closet! Well, while on one level that might a good thing, but on the other….well…I guess there really is no ‘other…’ *speechless stare* Thank you oh brother wolf for the kind introduction to your dark, evil and (hopefully) lovely fansssss…. *lascivious smile* I hope that everyone flocks to Pen of the Damned to read the words that have been torn from our souls. And, more importantly, I hope they share their thoughts (pro or con). *toothy grin*

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Yesssss, thought sharing is as fruitful and productive as soul rending (perhaps not as fun, but hey, who truly will argue with the Damned, eh?). I’ve said it before & I’ll say it again, Brother Wolf, the Pen of the Damned is a special thing…we need to be patient, proactive and (borrowing from earlier) productive. “Build it and they shall come…” Well, that doesn’t work with writers. “Write kick ass fiction and prose and then work your ass off to drag, err, I mean, kindly bring, the readers in…now, THAT works! 😉

  5. Glad you started Damned
    I enjoy the visits
    my only complaint – you guys need a post every day!!

    horrific hugs to all the “Damned”

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Leslie 🙂

      Thank you very much! I have a lot of wonderful visions for Damned that I hope will see fruition starting next year…lots of things cooking in the background (and cauldron!).
      Damned is a great platform for the writers individually and, of course, as a group.

      Now that’s the best complaint I’ve heard…ever!! lol I wish we could have a post every day. But with only 9 writers, I certainly do not wish to water down my “brand,” plus taking into account our own hectic schedules. Speaking for myself, I have a novella coming out in a few months; additionally, I’m rewriting my first horror novel from 2005 as well as starting a new one. Aaaaaand churning out new short stories for markets and for Damned. Wheh! I need to sit! 😉

  6. P.S. you guys inspire this romantic poet to try my hand at dark…

    Thanks

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Do you remember the email I sent you about two months ago? Damned stands at 9 exclusive members, but I could definitely see you honing your dark side & joining us…

  7. Hi Joseph, Thank you for sharing who you are and why you do what you do and say what you say. Very, very much appreciated. BTW, I have taught my children that death is beautiful and cemeteries are beautiful people gardens. So every time they see one, they say, “look mom, a people garden, can we stop and go see who all the flowers are.” Death is just a part of life, I try to help others see it as one step into another beautiful place. Sheri

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Cemeteries are just another piece of history and stories within themselves. As my father once told me, “it’s not the dead you should be scared of but the living.”

  8. Rohan 7 Things says:

    Very cool Joseph. Scary stories were my first love as a youngster and I still love them now. My brother and I have just started writing a sci fi novel with some horror elements. It’s our first foray into fiction so I’ll be looking forward to picking up some tips and chills while browsing the posts over at the Pen of the Damned 🙂

    Rohan.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Rohan! 🙂

      Thanks very much. I’m very happy you enjoyed ‘Grieve.’ Yes, please do; Pen of the Damned is for all horror fans: readers, writers and for those simply unfortunate to stumble into our way! lol I assure you that you’ll always find something different & fresh on our menu each week.
      Spread the Damned word…and thank you for becoming Damned with us!

  9. Chatty Owl says:

    Took time and pleasure to nose around your blog. Very impressive, i must say! Love the blunt expressions and the non-imposing, but strong opinion you have about things. Looking forward to new innuendo-filled masterpieces 😉

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you 🙂 And same here 🙂 I’ll be posting some new song lyrics & poetry soon. Have you the opportunity to join my group Pen of the Damned yet? Perfect if you’re a horror fan 🙂

      1. Chatty Owl says:

        I have looked, but Im sure my writing wouldn’t fit the bill 😉 i love reading horror, but thats not something that my pen would create 😉

      2. Joseph Pinto says:

        Thank you for looking. Well…read all the horror you want there lol Did you enjoy “Sex-Starved Thing?”
        I’ve greatly enjoyed your prose so far (at least what I’ve had the chance to read). And as for your owl pics, I do have an owl inked on my chest as part of a larger Athena tattoo (my daughter is named Athena & it’s a symbolization of her) 🙂

Leave a Reply

