Joseph A. Pinto

#barflypoet & author of dark fiction


For me, the most enjoyable part of writing horror fiction is not having a clue what you’re writing about in the first place.  Sometimes you’ll have an idea or sense of structure in terms of where a particular story will be headed.  And others come from the blue.  My story Run on Pen of the Damned is just that, and man, it was fun to write.

Flash fiction, contrary to belief, is not the easiest prose to create.  Your words require impact, all at a minimum.  The fat must be whittled from said prose’s bones.  The mood, the ambiance, it all needs to capture the reader at once.  It’s not a sparring contest.  You’re not trading jabs; you wish to punch the reader, knock their senses out.  Game over.  The trick, of course, is having them enjoy the assault.

Run is the story of a mysterious man known to locals only as the Runner.  When I was young, my father reminded me to keep my ego in check.  “There’s always someone stronger, bigger than you out there,” he told me.  His lesson immediately came to mind the first time I read my story back to myself.  I believe it was a lesson well learned.  I’m wondering what you will think…

Please enjoy Run, only at Pen of the Damned

15 thoughts on “‘Run’ on Pen of the Damned

  1. I loved ‘Run’, Joe. I though it was an excellent story concept, and told brilliantly. High five with a grimy palm!

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thanks, Nina! *high five back with peanut butter stuck in my palm* I appreciate that. Sometimes simple is…well, simply better 😉

  2. Lived it Joseph, “Man runnin from somethin is a man in fear. Man runnin toward somethin is a man ta fear. Ayup.”

    I’m quoting you on that in twitter! Awesome.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Sheri!! Thank you so much!! Yep, sometimes I can come up with a doozy of a quote lol But hey, if you live it, write it, & that’s what I do. Now get the masses over to read my story, please 🙂 Thank you again!!

  3. Hunter Shea says:

    In fact, readers of this blog should RUN to POTD and read it now!

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      You have a good plan there, Hunter lol I’m hopeful this will become the next craze in exercise 😛

  4. moondustwriter says:

    An excellent work Joseph. Tt reminds me of some of the Grimm fairy tales that had warnings embedded in them

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thanks so much, Leslie!! Hmmm I’ve yet to try my hand at fairy tales…perhaps you’ve given me incentive! lol

  5. blazemcrob says:

    Clueless is the way to go, Joe! No wonder I come up with so many stories. Damn, does that mean we think alike?! AAGH!

    Blaze

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      The clueless do tend to stick together, Blaze! lmao

      1. blazemcrob says:

        Ah, yes, Joe. Clueless is where it’s at!

        Blaze

  6. Daydreamer says:

    True insight! I can’t wait to read it!

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Well get to gettin’ then! lol

      1. Joseph Pinto says:

        Thank you very much! I’m appreciative you took the time to do so 🙂

Leave a Reply

