Joseph A. Pinto

author of horror & poetic prose


In some past life, I lived in New Orleans.  I’m quite sure of it.

Perched on the stoop of a jazz club, guitar in hand.  Crooning some laid back melody.  A sultry connection of souls.

In some past life, I lived in New Orleans.  Sang for the living.  Made music for the dead.

I wrote this song some time ago.  Who knows…maybe even longer than that.  I fancy I was a silky tongued musician.  Nothing more than a smoky silhouette in a Big Easy doorway.

You might have heard me sing this before.  In some past life.

I’m quite sure of it…

I Just Want

I don’t want to take your clothes off, baby

I just want to lay here and look deep into your eyes.

I don’t want to take your clothes off, baby

I just want to lay here and look deep into your eyes.

Feel the magic grow between us, darling

A man never felt so alive

So alive.

(instrumental)

I don’t want to scare you, baby

I just want to steal your breath away.

I don’t want to scare you, baby

I just want to steal your breath away.

Feel your hair brush against my neck, darling

Melt this night down into day

Into day.

What you got I want a piece of, sugar

From your toes straight to your fingertips.

You know you’re always on my mind, sugar

I can’t wait to kiss your honey lips.

I’ll be the shoulder you can lean on

I’ll be the mountain you can’t miss.

(instrumental)

I don’t want to take your clothes off, baby

I just want to undress you with my eyes.

I don’t want to take your clothes off, baby

I just want to undress you with my eyes.

Feel you tremble beneath my fingers, darling

Make your tender heart come alive

Come alive.

I don’t want you to frown no more, baby

I just want to keep all your clouds away.

I don’t want you to frown no more, baby

I just want to keep all your clouds away.

Be the sun to keep you growing, darling

Be the music behind all you say

All you say.

Copyright © 2013 Joseph A. Pinto – All Rights Reserved.

54 thoughts on “I Just Want

  1. Angie says:

    Transporting. And that kiss sounds great.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Lol Thank you, Angie. I’m glad you enjoyed it

  2. I feel the same way about New Orleans. Just overwhelmingly drawn to it, all out proportion to any realistic reason. I wish I could hear the tune you have in mind for your song. The lyrics are certainly right.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Renae Marie! Thanks for reading, as well as the kind comments 🙂 New Orleans is simply a magical city…I don’t think you can ever quite capture its essence in words. I’m not a song writer by any stretch, but the Big Easy had its hands all over this one!

  3. I feel the same way about New Orleans – overwhelmingly drawn to it, all out of proportion to any realistic reasons I have for loving it. I wish I could hear the tune for your song. The lyrics sound right.

  4. As with everything else – magnificent! 🙂

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Nina! Thank you! This is something I wrote a long time ago…I think I’ll stick to the horror business, but it’s fun to create something outside my box and comfort zone 🙂

      1. I really liked it. I hear it sung in a husky, deep voice in a smoke filled room. Good stuff. Need a sound bite through so I can figure the guitar part out. Great lyrics, Joe!

      2. Joseph Pinto says:

        Trust me, I’ll work on it!!

  5. zkullis says:

    Very smooth, man. I had no idea your writing talent extended to that particular realm. (the ladies are in trouble)

    I love The Big Easy. The place is full of a rhythmic and spicy sensuality that is hard to resist.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      lol Thank you Zack. My ‘song writing’ is something to do from time to time when the fancy strikes. I don’t think I’m ready to pay bills through it just yet. 😉

  6. blazemcrob says:

    Pretty cool, my friend. I didn’t know you wrote songs, but then, we don’t let all our secrets out, do we?

    Blaze

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thanks, Blaze. I guess I should have a hobby on the side when I’m not devourer souls and weaving my tales 😛

  7. Paul D. Dail says:

    I like it. Didn’t know you also wrote songs. Do you also play an instrument?

    I’d love to visit New Orleans. Someday. I wish it could be this year. They’re hosting the World Horror Convention this year, and I think it would be amazing to be there for it. Hope they’ll do it again someday (maybe that same “someday” I alluded to earlier).

    Paul D. Dail

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hey Paul! Thank you! No, I don’t play an instrument (guitar lessons on my bucket list), but there’s always music in my head (I suppose as scores to my horror fiction lol). I know all about the World Horror Convention in New Orleans this year; I can’t make it & it’s killing me. My sister gets married the very next weekend. ‘Nuff said… lol

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Andrea! Welcome to my nook! lol Thank you very much, I appreciate it! And thank you for taking the time to read my post 🙂

      1. I’m glad I came by and shall be returning. 🙂

      2. Joseph Pinto says:

        🙂 Thank you. I post a little bit of everything here…and if you enjoy horror, please visit http://www.penofthedamned.com An eclectic group of 10 writers, each posting a new horror short every Tuesday. You can find my name under ‘categories’ as well all our amazing authors 😉

      3. Joseph Pinto says:

        You rock!! lol A gracious thank you once again, Andrea

      4. zkullis says:

        Careful, Andrea. Joseph is talented, and once you start following, it is hard to let stop. Some of us are hooked! 😀

        By-the-way, I enjoy your travel blog

      5. Joseph Pinto says:

        lol Thanks, Zack!!

  8. @JasonDarrick says:

    Really well written, Joe. I can feel the emotion behind those words.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thanks very much, Jason! Even a horror writer can feel the blues if he so allows 😉

  9. moondustwriter says:

    Ats some bluesy tune you got going.
    Don’t want to take your clothes off just want to lay beneath the moon…

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you Leslie, glad you enjoyed it! I see you got the jam goin’ on yourself, too! lol

  10. Christopher Shawbell says:

    Yes. Whether it was infused into the lyrics so as not to be mistaken, or otherwise, I heard the music—not just the melody. The instrumental was cool, like ice-water spilling down the chin and neck as you drink deeply in the heat. Very slick.
    ~Chris

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hey Chris, thanks. I think all blues was made to be crooned in the deep of a sticky, steamy night.

  11. Christopher Shawbell says:

    Reblogged this on For Love of My Shadow and commented:
    Just when you thought you knew Joseph Pinto—horror author, and founder of Pen of the Damned—he posts another side of his prodigious talent. Enjoy a taste of the Big Easy, mon ami!
    ~Chris

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you Chris. That’s very kind of you to say. Humbling.

  12. Christopher Shawbell says:

    My pleasure. Love the Blues. Wrote a few pieces for a singer friend of mine, Gaileen Grillo. Vernon Black played bass on the track, and Kevin Hayes played drums. Gailene sang for John Lee Hooker, The Meters, and the Neville Brothers. I was 27 and blown away they were playing my song. I kept thinking, “That’s “Burnin’ Vernon & Robert Cray’s drummer!” Still makes me smile.
    ~Chris

  13. Daydreamer says:

    I love the way you led into the song. Pulls you in and make you beg for more. Now you know I have to hear the song as well! Great write!

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you very much! 🙂 Just something I wrote for fun. I’ve never heard of anyone ‘begging’ for more of a song before lol Now you’ve put me under pressure to sing (no! no! lol)

      1. Daydreamer says:

        OMG I love music as much as I love writing! PS yes the pressure is on! Sing Sing Sing!!!

      2. Joseph Pinto says:

        *wrings his hands* Oh no, this has turned into the horror edition of American Idol now lol

  14. Nice job! I heard the tap, tap, tapping of bottle caps on the little boys shoes that make their living on Bourbon and the rolling Mississippi behind you. Was that the trolley horn? Let’s go see what they’ve got for sale in the French Market after beignets and chicory coffee!

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hey Vaaaaaal! 🙂 Thanks very much! Mmmm beignets! I do believe that’s better than any song singing! ;P

  15. Alexis says:

    I love lyrics, more so perhaps when I don’t know a melody and have to guess at it. This was wonderful. My favorite line:

    “I’ll be the mountain you can’t miss.”

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Alexis! 🙂 Thank you for reading! Horror is my bread and butter, but I do enjoy stepping from the darkness from time to time 🙂

      I like to keep my personal blog fresh, spattering it with, as we Italians like to say, “A little bit of dis…a little bit of dat.” lol

      Come back and visit now, ya hear? 🙂

  16. Robyn Lee says:

    Super great Joe!! Loved all of it 🙂

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Robyn! 🙂 Thank you so much! I’m happy you enjoyed it 🙂

  17. paganpages says:

    I’ve never really thought about New Orleans but you’ve sold me on it, and your song is really nice, I like it.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Jess! Thanks for visiting…I’m glad I was able to infuse a little of N’Awlins into ya 🙂 And thank you for enjoying!

  18. poesravenlady says:

    New Orleans is calling, it seems. 🙂

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hello, Ms Raven’s Lady 🙂 New Orleans is always calling me… 😉

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you very much!! So glad that you do! 🙂

      1. Souldiergirl says:

        You have so many wonderfully pieces- so I am very glad too ;))

      2. Joseph Pinto says:

        That’s very kind of you to say! I’m humbled 🙂
        Are you anywhere else? Twitter, etc…?

      3. Joseph Pinto says:

        That’s very kind of you to say! 🙂 I’m humbled 🙂
        Are you anywhere else, Twitter, etc…?

Leave a Reply

