Joseph A. Pinto

author of horror & poetic prose


Treason

(acoustic guitar)

 

My words they’ve been swept away

Feeling much the castaway

If only I could bring back yesterday now,

It’s all treason

It’s all treason

Your eyes blaze like July.

Still there’s nothing I remember

Of your cold heart December

Such subtleties whispering goodbye.

My thoughts they’ve been led astray

Searching for the right of way

If only I could have the right to say now,

What’s your reason

What’s your reason

Your eyes blaze like July.

Still there’s nothing I remember

Of our snowbound December

Such casualties of war and of lies.

It’s all treason

It’s all treason

Your eyes blaze like July.

Still there’s nothing I remember

Of your cold heart December

Such subtleties whispering goodbye.

It’s all treason

It’s all treason

It’s all treason

It’s all treason

Such subtleties whispering goodbye.

Copyright © 2013 Joseph A. Pinto – All Rights Reserved.

29 thoughts on “Treason

  1. Chatty Owl says:

    “Your eyes blaze like July”.. Genius.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi ChattyOwl 🙂 Thank you very much! So funny…but also very cool…when writing a line that seems commonplace to my psyche/creative imagination, but strikes a chord with readers. It’s a great feeling! Thank you again! 🙂

      1. Chatty Owl says:

        And read I will! 🙂

  2. Karen Soutar says:

    Beautiful words, and you’ve got me wanting to hear the music now! Maybe one day… 😉

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Karen 🙂 Thank you very much! I certainly would love to upload the musical renditions of my songs as opposed to the lyrics only; once I get more time on my hands, it’s something I could see happening 🙂 Thank you for reading 🙂

  3. As always a well written piece..leaves u wanting to read more….u r taken by the words n fewlings behind it….great piece..

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hey Meredith, thank you for the kind words! 🙂 I appreciate it! I receive an image in my head, or simply roll with an emotion…with songs and/or poetry, I just spit out what’s there the first time out. Unlike a story, there’s no editing, no corrections. Always raw.

  4. Juat simply awesome writing!!!

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you lol You’re too kind 🙂

  5. A beautiful, lonely, heart-wrenching song, Joe. :}

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hey Nina, thank you! I’m very happy you enjoy all my heart-breakers lmao 🙂 I always love to people watch & spin what I think I perceive from them…great fodder for my dark mind lol
      Thank you for taking the time to read! 🙂

  6. Thomas Brown says:

    ‘Still there’s nothing I remember

    Of our snowbound December

    Such casualties of war and of lies.’

    My favourite lines! Emotive and resonant.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Tom, thank you for reading! 🙂 Much appreciated! I’m thrilled that you enjoyed it 🙂

  7. zkullis says:

    Great stuff man. It would be killer to hear this with the acoustic going.

    Do you sing too? If not, I can easily picture Stone Sour doing this.

    1. zkullis says:

      If you haven’t heard anything from Stone Sour, you could Google “Bother” by Stone Sour. I imagine the sound and rhythm could be very similar.

      1. Joseph Pinto says:

        Oh, sonofabitch, that’s Stone Sour? lmao I’ve heard “Bother” (and have sung it) plenty of times…never realized they play “Bother.” Awesome, awesome tune…lyrics are killer

      2. zkullis says:

        Yeah, good stuff huh!

    2. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hey Zack! Thanks very much, buddy 🙂

      It’s on my bucket list of things to do…recording music, that is. Can I sing? Hmmm…lol Depends on the song, I suppose lmao As with my writing, I’ll just get tunes inside my head that make sense, & the need to get it out overwhelms at times.

      Stone Sour? I’ll have to look them up, never heard of them

      1. zkullis says:

        You have some pretty cool talents. I listen to music very well. 😉

  8. This is awesome, Joseph. Can’t wait to hear the music!

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thanks very much, Lee!! 🙂

  9. Hi Joseph, thanks for the stopping by my blog and in turn introducing me to yours. 🙂

  10. lovely writing. hello, sir Joel. warm regards… 🙂 ~San

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you for taking the time to read, as well your kind words! 🙂

  11. Hunter Shea says:

    You need to record these and lay some audion down on us!

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hey Hunter! 🙂 It’s on my bucket list…as soon as I have contract in hand for multiple horror novels 😉

Leave a Reply

