Joseph A. Pinto

author of horror & poetic prose


Hand Poised On Knob

You’ve had your bags packed
For a very long time
No chance to think it over
Just grabbed your essentials
Essentially you’re gone.

But still you remain
For what or why
You’re not sure yourself
And that’s the problem, isn’t it?

And that’s a problem
Isn’t it?

Remaining behind the door
Hand on knob
Certain of the monster behind you
Not sure of the monsters beyond
Duffle bag on your back
Mouth dry as cotton
Frozen
So you remain another day.

But your bags are packed
And in your head you’re gone
Living your life this way
One day at a time
One monster clawing at your back
God knows what waiting beyond.

ยฉ Copyright 2012 Joseph A. Pinto. All Rights Reserved.

23 thoughts on “Hand Poised On Knob

  1. The contemplation, the hesitation-so good. I loved it

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you, Michelle, I’m glad you enjoyed it!

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hey Sheri, yeah, I never know what’s going to come outta this skull of mine ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thank you for reading!

  2. Wonderful writing as usual…!! Great job joe..

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you Meredith!! Much appreciated ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. mirabella says:

    “Should i stay or should I go now…”

    Is it better to love the devil you know?

    Enjoyed…if a bit sad…can hear your heart love…it beats strong in your words.

    Wishing you peace…may you find it inside yourself soon.

    Hugs, Bells xxx

  4. Chatty Owl says:

    That skull of yours has so many hidden gems! Liked it a lot. Knob.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you very much ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Thomas Brown says:

    I might have said this before but it reminds me very much of song lyrics. Willing to sing it for us? ๐Ÿ˜› Great stuff as always; sensitive and endearing.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you Tom!! lol Hey, get me in a karaoke bar after a few Johnnie Blacks and anything is possible lol Thank you again for your kind words

  6. Fantastic piece, Joe! So emotive, it speaks directly to the dark writer in me. Love it!

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Nina, thank you so much!! For whatever reason, my poetry comes out simple and clean…but I think it packs a punch. Maybe that’s because I’m the one writing it, of course. But I’m thrilled my words can make a connection with you! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Great prose
    there is an anticipation you set behind and in front of the “victim” aka person at the knob. This could be read in quite a number of ways – I thought of the abused spouse with no way out
    Great great great write! Nice to see you posting more than once a month ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hey Leslie, I appreciate your kindness! ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes, I’m trying to post more. It’s very hard to work on multiple horror stories because I never rush them; all are carefully honed, even if they appear as a simple read. But poetry is really keeping my mind sharp. I’m no poet by any stretch of the imagination, but I enjoy employing my free verse style, almost lyrical prose. It’s about generating emotion , & that serves me well when writing my horror fiction. Now as long as you don’t get sick of my material, I’m golden!! ๐Ÿ˜‰ lol

  8. zkullis says:

    Great stuff Joe. To me if feels like you’ve pegged the frustration with somebody already mentally and emotionally gone from a relationship.
    I can almost hear the music with it.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hey Zack! Thanks, buddy!! Well, we all know how that goes…I work at channeling any emotion & then sculpting some simple words around it. Amazing how powerful a message they can convey

  9. jaimiengle says:

    Phenomenal, lyrical, beautiful. So much emotion packed into a few stanzas. Hope some rock band puts a hard tune to it.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you Jaimie!! Actually, I had no “music” flowing through my head as I wrote this one. I feel an emotion, or glimpse an image, then write. Only later do I realize the rawness and strength of the prose. It’s amazing that others feel from this piece the same as I do.

      Thank you for taking the time to read it!

  10. Hi, Joseph,
    I’ve been taking a peek at your writing, and I must say, it is an absolute honor to have you following my blog! Keep up the fantastic work with your writing, as it is brilliant!

    -Brittany

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hey Brittany! Thank you very much, that’s extremely kind of you ๐Ÿ™‚ Enjoy anything in particular?

      1. Actually, I thoroughly enjoyed the sincere depth of “Hand Poised On Knob.” =)

      2. Joseph Pinto says:

        Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ Trust me, I’m nothing of a poet, although I do enjoy writing it in my spare time (go figure! lol It does serve as a great release, I must admit). But I pull no punches when I do write prose.

        I see you’ve joined ‘Pen of the Damned.’ I think you’ll enjoy us very much. Free horror fiction every Tuesday just for you! (yes, literally, just for you! :P). Please check out my contributions there when time allows ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

