Joseph A. Pinto

#barflypoet & author of dark fiction


Believe it or not, I first wrote ‘Sweet Nothings‘ way back in May of 1988.  Then, it was titled ‘I Know Something You Don’t Know.’  The original concept was that of a man who learns his girlfriend has cheated on him, so he kidnaps her lover and tortures him.  The twist, of course, is that he never reveals his evil ways to his girlfriend.

I never thought it was a good story.  To me, it seemed too plain, too simple.  Too predictable.  I never discarded it, however, and 25 years later, I thumbed through it again.  It seemed the perfect offering for the readers of Pen of the Damned – after an infusion of new blood, of course!  And hence, ‘Sweet Nothings‘ was reborn.

My story is extremely ‘voice’ driven and pulls you in from the start.  It’s not flashy; it’s not complex.  But I dare you to admit it did not make you shudder…

Please enjoy ‘Sweet Nothings‘ on Pen of the Damned

6 thoughts on “‘Sweet Nothings’ on Pen of the Damned

  1. mirabella says:

    Joey, I love learning that this wicked gem of a story is 25 years old! Very cool that you would breathe new life into words you wrote so long ago and it would still be totally relevant to today. You know I loved it! Just surprised its darkness held… and still holds… me. As always your writing has a delicious resonant quality …which is the mark of talent true …even though sometimes we beg the whispers to stop. Bxxx

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Bells! You’re always so kind to me & I greatly appreciate it!! Well, I’m glad I didn’t discard this tale after 25 years as I almost did…I think with certain stories, you need to know how many ‘bells and whistles’ to dress it with (pardon the pun lol). This tale didn’t need any. It’s got something of an attitude 😉

  2. I really enjoyed Sweet Nothings, loved the ‘street’ style it was written in! ;}

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thanks, Nina! 🙂 Yes, it is a bit dirty and gritty 😉

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you, Sheri! 🙂

Leave a Reply

