Joseph A. Pinto

author of horror & poetic prose


Fakes Need Not Apply

The thing about this mask
Is that I choose not to wear it
I’m comfortable
Exposed.

Without this mask
You see me for all I am
So shame on you
For not seeing me coming.

But you
And your kind
You wear the masks I choose not to
You wear the masks I see through.

A brilliant disguise?
Please
Spare me.

I walk raw, naked and senses alive
Even while the rest of me dies
Just do me this favor
Only this one
When I’m gone
Display this mask alongside my casket
To serve as constant reminder
For the fakes who attend.

© Copyright 2012 Joseph A. Pinto. All Rights Reserved.

14 thoughts on “Fakes Need Not Apply

  1. very powerful…especially the idea of leaving a mask by the casket
    i do not choose a mask or invisibility. i just am.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you, Ms Invisible. We all should simply be who we are.

  2. jaimiengle says:

    Awesome! That last stanza was great. If I may know, what inspired this?

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you very much, Jaimie! 🙂

      In brief, I’ve encountered far too many people who speak from both sides of their mouth; hence the inspiration

  3. ‘Without this mask
    You see me for all I am
    So shame on you
    For not seeing me coming.’

    This stanza resonates with me the most. As always, fantastic piece! 🙂

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you very much, Nina!! 🙂

  4. mirabella says:

    Ciao love! I agree with Nina “so shame on you…”
    The world is far too full of fakes and liars…just be you…best course of action…always.
    Great piece love!
    HUGE hugs (soft and gentle tho;)), Bxxx

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you very much, Bells! 🙂

  5. Rachna says:

    Absolutely stunning..words, thoughts as well as the sentiment !! Thank you 🙂

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank YOU! 🙂 Just me sharing my ‘unfiltered’ poetry

      1. Rachna says:

        That’s what makes it beautiful 🙂

      2. Joseph Pinto says:

        🙂 I appreciate that very much!

Leave a Reply

