Joseph A. Pinto

author of horror & poetic prose


Since 1992, I’ve kept a notebook collection of story ideas and have been faithful in adding to my potpourri of twisted thoughts ever since.

Oats‘ originated as an unnamed, loose story about a child who loses a tooth, and her evil father who won’t allow her to keep it. I’m pleased that my voice has evolved enough to warrant a re-visitation of that entry from all those years ago.

‘Oats’ was first published in The Sirens Call eZine Issue #8 – Men in Horror and most recently on Pen of the Damned.

If you’ve missed it, please indulge in some ‘OATS.’

I’m also happy to announce the winners of my ‘Horror-tica‘ giveaway!  They are: Madison Woods, Malina Roos and Sue Ann Rakes.  Congrats to all!  Please enjoy the anthology 🙂

10 thoughts on “‘Oats’ on Pen of the Damned

  1. Cristina says:

    I loved ‘Oats’. I should maybe add that I’m now the proud owner of ‘Flowers for Eveline’. 🙂

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hey Crisitna! Thank you very much, that’s very kind of you 🙂

      Flowers for Evelene is my first horror novel, self-published back in 2005 (so written earlier still). I’m interested in hearing your thoughts; my style & voice have completely evolved & matured since then. I do have a publisher interested in it now, however, and F4E is slated for a rewrite in the near future 🙂

  2. Cristina says:

    Evelene* Sorry, I’m so tired…

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      lmao *hands you coffee* Yep, I know the feeling 🙂

    2. Joseph Pinto says:

      Cristina, do you use Twitter or Facebook?

      1. Cristina says:

        Thanks for the coffee! 🙂
        Yep, I use both but I’m more active on Fb( Cristina Ghita).
        And speaking of my thoughts on your book: after reading ‘Oats’ and really liking it, I got the ‘Flowers for EvelEne’ sample from Amazon. My plan was NOT to buy it before I was finished with the book I was currently reading. That didnt go so well since all I did was think of what will happen in your book while trying to finish the other book, haha. So here I am… Donna Tartt’s “The Little Friend” will have to wait.

      2. Joseph Pinto says:

        lol Send me an invite please (on Fb). There seem to be several of you Cristina Ghita’s running amok! lol

        I’m truly appreciative of you purchasing my book. Here’s a little tidbit: I wrote F4E completely by hand; until that point in my life, I had not written in years & although the fire burned inside, circumstance did not allow for my to pursue my dream. Finally I said to myself: ‘I need to prove to myself that this is the life meant for me. If I can sit down & write an ‘unscripted’ novel, then I’ll take it as a sign.’ And so I did. I’m very proud of F4E – she is my first love, so to speak lol. But to give you an idea of what is to come of it (in terms of its changes), please give ‘Sex-Starved Thing'(written by me, of course lol) a read over on Pen of the Damned. Either way, I hope it meets your expectations 🙂

  3. Lilith Rose says:

    Well, well…what a twisted stomach-turner that was! One of those “What-the-HELL-is-about-to-happen?” white-knuckled reads that I adore. Oats is delicious in the most terrible yet satisfying way. Thank you for another wonderfully twisted tale Mr. Pinto. Pen on…please…

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Oh, I shall ‘Pen’ on, Ms. Lilith! Thank you for your kind words 🙂

  4. tlohuis says:

    http://tlohuis.wordpress.com/2013/10/20/liebster-award-2/
    Ive nominated you for this prestigious award. To accept this award view the link above.

Leave a Reply

