Joseph A. Pinto

#barflypoet & author of dark fiction


Welcome to Coffin Hop 2013!

While racking my brain trying to decide what to do for Coffin Hop this year, I decided – what the hell, I may as well give away three prizes. Besides the prose I offer below, I’m going to pick three winners from those who comment on this post and offer each an e-copy of an anthology I was recently published in. Three lucky winners, three great books, one new home for each anthology. I’ll be picking who gets what, so if by chance you have already won one of these from me, just speak up and an exchange will be made.

anthologies

Even horror authors have a heart, albeit blackened.Β  The following is a quick song I crafted some time ago after exploring a cemetery.Β  Must have been the spirits that whispered to me…

Nothing Else

Gazing out your window

Your cemetery of hope haunts your moments

Ghosts beneath your lids once your dreams

Tonight will be a long one

When you can’t reach pass your means.

But I’m the rain streaks your pane

I’m the soft breeze stirs your curtains

I’m the lone star in your dark sky

When nothing else remains.

Just outside your window

Your cemetery of life steals your darkness

Ghosts beneath your lids once your dreams

And tonight will be a long one

When you can’t breathe pass your means.

But I’m the bird sings your song

I’m the soft kiss on your full lips

I’m the one ghost never have left you

When nothing else remains.

Oh I’m the rain streaks your pane

I’m the soft breeze stirs your curtains

I’m the lone star in your dark sky

When nothing else remains.

Yeah tonight will be a long one

But I’m the one thing to count on

When nothing else remains.

Β© Copyright 2013 Joseph A. Pinto. All Rights Reserved.

25 thoughts on “Coffin Hop 2013: Day 6 Giveaway: ‘Nothing Else’

  1. Remembering that authors are human can be hard. We see them as their books, their series, literally. But writers have lives. They aren’t word machines. Their craft takes effort and emotional deep-sea diving. They get tired. They might not always be out with that next book on schedule.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Lori πŸ™‚ Spot on; at least for me, I write on a very emotional level – even if it is horror. That said, I find writing poetry & songs very therapeutic, plus it seems to give my horror fiction an added edge; I believe it is due to the fact that there is actual pace & measure within many of my works.

      Thank you for reading & taking the time to comment πŸ™‚

  2. Cristina says:

    And I was thinking it’s only me that enjoys visiting cemeteries. This seriously put me in the mood to do some exploring of my own. Oh, and I just loooved the repetition(s)!

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Crisitna πŸ™‚ Nope, you’re not the only one lol Thank you very much; I’m not pretending to be a song writer, only someone who enjoys writing songs ;P lol

  3. jaimiengle says:

    Very nice. Creepy, concrete descriptions put me into a sing-song by Rob Zombie. Great work, as always.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hey Jaimie πŸ˜‰ Thank you very much! lol Actually, I had a more subdued melody in mind as I wrote this, but that’s the beauty of posting song lyrics alone – you can claim the interpretation as you wish! πŸ™‚

  4. Chatty Owl says:

    “You’re the one..” oh, you write so well, mister.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      πŸ™‚ Thank you very much, Ms Owl

      1. Chatty Owl says:

        Oh darling, its a pleasure.

  5. Beautifully haunting song, Joe πŸ™‚

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you very much, Nina! I am thrilled that you like it πŸ™‚

      1. I love it – its packed with pain and hope. The two emotions that are prevalent in almost all my writing. It does truly sing to me, as I’m sure it does many, many others!

  6. zkullis says:

    Smooth Joe, and very cool

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Much appreciated, big guy! πŸ™‚

      1. zkullis says:

        My pleasure Joe

  7. Oh that was eerily lovely! Somehow I find cemeteries beautiful, calming and serene. I think you’ve captured all of those quite nicely in poetic song. Perfect πŸ™‚

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hey Kimberly! πŸ™‚ Thank you so much…yes, cemeteries are strikingly beautiful & achingly haunting all at once…I very much appreciate your support! πŸ™‚

  8. Wow! Beautiful dark song! Thanks for sharing. =)

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Georgina! πŸ™‚ Well, thank you for reading! I appreciate that you’ve taken the time to do so (and so happy you enjoyed it) πŸ™‚

  9. juan gutierrez says:

    Nice, I can hear an acoustic guitar and Johnny Cash’s voice lol

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      lol Thank you Juan, glad you enjoyed the lyrics πŸ™‚

  10. Beautiful!
    I think horror writers understand emotion more than most. After all the stories we write are about extreme emotions and fears.
    I loved this post!
    – KimK

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you so much, Kim! πŸ™‚ So much of my horror fiction is actually emotive…it’s what churns beneath & within!

  11. I do so enjoy your poetry.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you! I do so appreciate your continual support; thrilled as well that you enjoy my prose πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

