Joseph A. Pinto

author of horror & poetic prose


Yesterday’s Fable
Was it just yesterday you told me your time had come?
Under a cloudless sky
Nothing but myth and unspoken promise between us
It was an alabaster lie
I realize as much now
But I was so blind to my own beliefs
That I forgot to realize
My faith belongs
Only to borrowed time.
It still hangs in the air
Of that cloudless sky
So fleeting when spoken
So final when reminisced
I might not be here tomorrow
I might not see you at all
I laughed; not at you, of course
But at your absurdity
Something I steadfastly refused to own
But with today’s cloudless sky born new
And yesterday’s fable yet grown old
I realize how shabby these beliefs are in my own pocket
And you’ve forced me to throw them all away.

ยฉ Copyright 2013 Joseph A. Pinto. All Rights Reserved.

20 thoughts on “Yesterday’s Fable

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Much appreciated, Caroline ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. poesravenlady says:

    “…cloudless sky born new…” such a beautiful image of hope. Well done! I have missed your poetry. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you very much! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m appreciative that you look forward to it ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. laughingwolf [tony hunt] says:

    life can be a real bitch! :/

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Ain’t that the truth, brother! Thank you for reading ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Beautiful poem, Joe, beautiful & sorrowful! :}

  4. Chatty Owl says:

    Oh darling, you are so good with your pen! ๐Ÿ™‚ such a profound piece! My favourite line: “my faith belongs only to borrowed time”… So good xx

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you, Ms. Owl ๐Ÿ™‚
      After all, what does faith belong to?…

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Much appreciated, Mike!

  5. Joseph Pinto says:

    Thank you very much, Nina ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Thomas Brown says:

    This is wonderful, Joe.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you very much, Tom!!

  7. John says:

    Really wonderful … even though it is so heartbreakingly mournful.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you John, I wrote this to honor a neighbor who passed suddenly just days after we spoke

      1. John says:

        Now that I know the inspiration for the poem, it seems so much sadder. It definitely felt as if it came from somewhere very sad.

        I’m sorry about your friend …

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you very much, Rachna! I appreciate you taking the time to read & comment! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

