Joseph A. Pinto

#barflypoet & author of dark fiction


A belated happy 2014!  I certainly hope this new year will be healthy and positive for you all!

I’ve never been one for resolutions because a particular day on the calendar dictates I should do so.  I believe that every day is a resolution; every moment.  Trust me, it’s a difficult way to think.  There’s so much in our lives to get caught up in.  But January 1st shouldn’t be the only time to change our way of thinking, the manner in which we treat people, or the long awaited pursuit of one’s dream.  Like I said, try to create a resolution every day.  Big or small – do it, be it, live it.  🙂

So enough with my chatter!

Pen of the Damned

2013 was a good year for Pen of the Damned.  We’ve created some amazing fiction, and we’ve gained some wonderful and supportive ‘Damnlings.’  That’s why we do it, after all.  When you’re a creative mind – whether it be a writer, musician, photographer, what have you – your art form needs to be expressed and shared.  A creative mind will starve if kept bottled up.  So at least where Pen of the Damned has been concerned, it’s been an extremely positive experience.  And we believe it will only get better in 2014.  We have some great things planned, so stay tuned!

Following with what I have done in past posts here on my blog (and something I am dreadfully behind on), I’d like to introduce (or reintroduce) you to ‘LULLABY‘ which originally appeared on Pen of the Damned back in October 2013.

It was such a fun story to write.  What I loved most of all was that as it evolved from my head, I realized that ‘LULLABY’ could be and should be part of something much larger.  It’s the tale of a woman who finds herself captive in the middle of the woods along with a group of younger girls.  Who…or what…is behind this?  Hmm, good question.  Don’t you appreciate monster stories that just simply ‘are,’ without all the endless, cloying explanation?  I certainly do, and I think that’s why “LULLABY‘ is so appealing.

Take a read (or a reread) won’t you?  ‘LULLABY,’ only on Pen of the Damned.

9 thoughts on “‘LULLABY’ on Pen of the Damned

  1. Karen Soutar says:

    Another one of my faves! Thank you Pen of the Damned for bringing us such excellent and varied horror. And thank you Joe and your fellow Damned for being supportive of me and my writing. You were one of the first people to encourage and advise me. Love ya (in a wicked way, of course)!

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      You’re very welcome, Karen! We all need to support one another in some way. Writing is a tough, isolating road to travel along; knowing that others help light the way keeps you trudging on. I appreciate all you’ve done for me as well the Damned, Karen! 🙂

      1. Karen Soutar says:

        Aaww, shucks! I love this online community of writers I’ve found. I never imagined it when I started back in March, so it’s been an amazing surprise to have the support of such a variety of people. 🙂

      2. Joseph Pinto says:

        🙂 No matter what one aspires to become in the ‘writing field,’ we are all in this together!

  2. Love this piece, Joe! “It became my ghost, that lullaby—its virulent strain infecting not only the cloaked woods that surrounded us, but also the ears upon which it fell.” Beautifully crafted, wickedly told! ;}

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Nina! 🙂 Thank you very much! The beginning of any story is very important; nevermore so then when writing short fiction. That opening sentence definitely set the tone and direction of my tale. Your support is always appreciated, Nina!! 🙂

  3. Dave says:

    Great story. Really enjoyed it. Thanks for reminding me about it 🙂

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Dave, hope all is well with you 🙂 I appreciate that, brother, but thank YOU for taking the time to read it!

  4. Dave says:

    Great story. Really enjoyed it. Thanks for posting the reminder about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

