Joseph A. Pinto

author of horror & poetic prose


I said a prayer in the moments before I saw you that

my composure would be steel and yet your

utter silence broke me down in ways I never expected.

 

Forgive me, I faltered when taking your still hand into mine and

realizing your sleep would be an endless one,

began to pity myself.  And in your dignified manner, you stilled me,

 

imparted sweet memories; you allowed me a time I thought had

long past and selfish as it may be, I am grateful for holding you

one last time.

 

I want you to know that behind your closed eyes, I still saw

you as you should be and as you will always be

to me: smiling

 

You were such a gentleman in every sense of the word.

 

Dear friend, I hope you heard me when I whispered

that I would not say farewell.  I kissed your cheek

and I meant it.  There are no goodbyes; there are only see you later’s.

 

So sleep in peace, and within your warm cocoon

learn of your new wings now.  Fashion your Heaven as

it should be

 

As one day, I will mine.

 

We will have a party then for the ages,

won’t we?  Be with love and light, dear

friend.  I’ll meet you then at the bar come nine.

~ for Rich

© Copyright 2014 Joseph A. Pinto. All Rights Reserved.

15 thoughts on “In Peace

  1. Lilith Rose says:

    This is beautiful Joseph, touching, and I know there must be deep truth within it for you. Blessed Be my friend. ❤

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hello, Darkness 🙂 Thank you very much; yes, sadly there is too much truth in this poem

  2. Lovely poem, Joe. I’m sorry it’s for such a sad event.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you very much, Nina. It’s extremely sad & senseless, but I would not be right with myself if I did not write this for my friend

  3. jaimiengle says:

    Joseph, that was just beautiful. Tears are in my eyes. Thank you so much for sharing that private moment and reminding me how beautiful relationships can be. Truly touching. I am so sorry for your loss.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hey Jaimie, thank you 🙂 I saw my friend on Sunday, & he passed late in the night Wednesday. He was only 38 & had been diagnosed with brain cancer in April. Very hard to make sense of; I pray for endless strength for his family.

  4. Such beautiful, touching words.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Jennifer, thank you for your kindness 🙂

  5. Magenta Nero says:

    such a beautiful heartfelt poem , I greatky enjoyed it, wonderful x

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you Magenta, I appreciate it 🙂

  6. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    you write such quiet beauty within sadness….
    I never say goodbye….for to me thats means I will never see them again…
    This a wonderful thoughtful work of word-art
    Thank you for sharing…
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryose

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you very much! I appreciate you taking the time to both read and respond to my work 🙂

      I just write what I write, if that makes sense 🙂 If something is within me, it manages to find its way onto paper

      1. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

        You’re Welcome, I enjoy the wandering through here…
        I write like that, I sometime think it’s whispers on the wind, from our souls from long ago
        Have a wonderful day…. 🙂
        Take Care…You Matter…
        )0(
        maryrose

Leave a Reply

