Joseph A. Pinto

#barflypoet & author of dark fiction


My last January breath rose in a plume to the sky
and left me wondering if this would be how
my soul would one day escape me,

wispy vapored , twanged by fingers of Northeast wind;
I suppose I will always be a puppet but the excuse
of ‘oh, it will be much warmer tomorrow’ keeps me from cutting

the fishing line. I love the dangling, but if you should ask me I
will vehemently deny it, blow frozen curses into your
face – then request for you to reposition me. Please.

A light snow falls; February knocks and soon all trace
of my existence will vanish from the air. Still, I will
always dangle here, waiting for your hand to guide me.

© Copyright 2014 Joseph A. Pinto. All Rights Reserved.

15 thoughts on “Boy on Strings

  1. marcus says:

    Stunning words. Howling at the moon

  2. Chatty Owl says:

    Oh darling… You swoon with your words…

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hello Ms. Owl 🙂 Thank you, but do you mean that I make myself swoon?? 😛 Only kidding

      1. Chatty Owl says:

        He he, you got me here 😛 Even though you should make yourself swoon, because you are that bloody brilliant!

      2. Joseph Pinto says:

        Thank you Ms Owl 🙂 I’m not brilliant, just persistent at working on my goals and dream 😉

  3. jaimiengle says:

    Beautifully lyrical with and overtone of sorrow. It reminded me of an orchestra piece where the melody is in a major key and dissonant chords weave between on the horns and strings. Splendid job. I really enjoyed reading this one.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Jaimie, thank you very much! Yes, simple on the words, heavy on the sorrow. Guess that sums up my writing 🙂

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Nina, thank you very much :} I appreciate you taking time from your crazy Women In Horror Month schedule to read 🙂

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you very much, Sheri 🙂

  4. rosereads says:

    I love the way that your words reel me in and then hit me. Bravo once again.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Lu, I appreciate that you’ve taken the time to read my poem. Thank you; hopefully they didn’t strike too hard lol 🙂

      1. rosereads says:

        No bruises so it is all good =)

Leave a Reply

