Joseph A. Pinto

author of horror & poetic prose


I mentioned in last week’s post that the idea behind my short story LUNCH came from a poem I had written back in December 2012. For curiosity’s sake, here it is:

JUST NOT HERE

On this darkened night I hold you
Arms empty. Your memory my solitary light
Wind raps at pane, sneaks under door
The only thing ever to cross this threshold again
Sandwich on counter grows old with mold
Milk sour. Spoiled.
None of it matters; this candle flickers
And ghosts, they creep along the floor
Sounding so much the way your footfalls once did
When you’d kiss my cheek standing in the hall.
I’d walk somewhere if it wasn’t raining so hard
These clothes already stuck to skin
The weight of everything
The wait for anything…
I’ll sit here then
Because somewhere, you are there
Somewhere. Just not here.
On this darkened night I hold you
Somewhere. Just not here.

ยฉ Copyright 2012 Joseph A. Pinto. All Rights Reserved.

18 thoughts on “Just Not Here

  1. AR Neal says:

    So much in between the words. Excellent piece, this.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you very much, AR!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. marcus says:

    Very cool, howling poem.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you, I appreciate you taking the time to read my poem ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. marcus says:

        love your work…i appreciate the opportunity to read and learn. i hope to improve my own.

      2. Joseph Pinto says:

        That is very kind of you to say. Thank you very much!

  3. jaimiengle says:

    They both rock. I love how you are able to capture different essences of the same tale through varied mediums. Certain ideas translate through a poem that don’t make it in the short story or even lyrics, and vice versa. Thanks for sharing both versions!!

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Jaimie! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you; I think that’s why I enjoy writing poetry. Sometimes it’s not so much the idea but the emotion that goes into it. I take that and do my best to expand upon it through my fiction. A good tale has no impact if written flatly

  4. juan gutierrez says:

    Same ideas but they hit differently, great stuff.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thanks very much, Juan! I appreciate it!

  5. The poem is as heartrendingly beautiful as the story it inspired. Very nice, Joe ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Nina, thank you very much! I am far from a polished poet, but it does serve me well when taking the emotions I evoke and then melding it into my horror fiction ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. Regardless, it’s still very effective and despondently lovely for exactly what it is… The raw/dull emotion makes it that much more poignant. Very well done in both pieces :}

  6. Joseph Pinto says:

    ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. dweezer19 says:

    Makes me sad but in a rich way.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you, Cheryl! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Lila says:

    I connect especially to those last few lines.. Very well expressed longing, I’ve felt that longing many times.

    Thanks for following the blog.. Smiles.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Lila ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you; it was a sad poem to write. And thank you for following my blog as well. Take a look around and stay awhile ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

