Joseph A. Pinto

author of horror & poetic prose


YOURS TO KEEP

Little girl
you grow before my eyes and
the feel of your hand in mine as I walk you to school
stills my restless demons;
I am far from a perfect man but
I live to be flawless in your eyes.
Every kiss you bless upon my cheek
reminds me that while I am responsible
for protecting your life,
you have saved mine.
Sometimes I see glimpses
of the woman you will grow to be and
your subtle grace melts me.
Please know that being your father
is my greatest achievement and honor;
with the very first flutter of your eyes
I became yours to keep

© Copyright 2014 Joseph A. Pinto. All Rights Reserved.

21 thoughts on “Yours to Keep

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you very much, Karen 🙂

      1. Karen Soutar says:

        I contemplated writing more than that, but really, that one word summed it up. 🙂

  1. jaimiengle says:

    So tender…so true. They grow so quickly. Enjoy it while you are still the only man in her life!!

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hey Jaimie 🙂 Trust me, I’m soaking in every moment like a sponge 😉

  2. dsaintsgal says:

    Beautiful words, Joe … you are blessed as is she. And what a great gift for her … words, a book, thoughts of love written by her dad with memories forever inked to cherish and to remember, her first love.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you, Deb, I appreciate the kind words 🙂

  3. Great and touching poem, Mr. Pinto! My daughter is almost 6 months old so this one really hits home with me! Nice work!

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Jon! Hold her tight & appreciate every moment! Thank you for your kind words 🙂

  4. Amy says:

    It’s amazing the love that can be conveyed using just a few words. Every memory etched in your heart, mind and soul forever.

    Happy 6th Birthday Sweet A!!!!

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Amy, thank you for reading! 🙂 And thank you for my little girl’s birthday wishes!!

  5. A beautiful poem from an adoring father. Lovely, Joe.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you very much, Nina! :} I appreciate all the support you have given me, more than you will ever know!

  6. K.Z. says:

    that was so beautiful.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you, K.Z.! 🙂

  7. No amount of words can express how touching and artfully powerful I found this. Astounding piece!

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Adelie 🙂
      Thank you very much! Geez, I don’t even know what to say *bows humbly* 🙂

  8. It really is a beauty that we only get to glimpse at. I think it is cool to see our heritage (traits of our forefathers) as they emerge in our children.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      I agree! 🙂 Thank you, Leslie!

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you very much!

Leave a Reply

