Joseph A. Pinto

#barflypoet & author of dark fiction


I had no outlet for my grief after my father passed. All I knew was that I needed to honor his fight, his bravery, in some endearing fashion. I could not bear the thought that after everything he had gone through battling pancreatic cancer, then suddenly that was it. To believe his life ended that way betrayed what he had endured. There had to be more. I simply refused to use two of the coldest words in our language – the end.

Six months after he passed, I sat behind my computer and typed this sentence: I lost my father between dusk and summer. So began the telling of a myth.

Life is a series of stories waiting to be told. They are inside all of us to be poured like a good wine, a little at a time. Sipped. Savored.
Shared.

Some stories are real. Some embellished. Some take a life all their own.

Some simply possess magic from the start.

You just need to believe…

In honor of my father, I proudly donate proceeds from Dusk and Summer to the Lustgarten Foundation for Pancreatic Cancer Research. Together, we can make a difference.

DuskAndSummer_JosephAPinto_FrontCover_Large

Does Heaven await beneath the waves? One man needs to know.

When his dying father whispers a cryptic message to him, he has no choice but to summon his courage and begin the quest of a lifetime. It’s a race against time to realize his father’s wish and fulfill his own destiny; it’s a discovery of the unbreakable bond between father and son. It’s a journey of the heart that unfolds where only the Chosen exist – in the moments between Dusk and Summer.

“A poignant, metaphoric conversation between son and father. A story that will warm your heart.” –Yvonne S. Thornton, M.D., bestselling author of The Ditchdigger’s Daughters

The author will be donating a portion of the proceeds from this book to the Lustgarten Foundation for Pancreatic Cancer Research.

Dusk and Summer is available at:
Amazon: US |UK | Canada | Australia | Germany | France | Spain | Italy | Japan | Mexico | India | Brazil
CreateSpace | Smashwords
Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iTunes (Apple)

Part 5: A Saint Goes Marching In

Part 4: Lazarus

Part 3: Faith and Windows

Part 2: Phone Booths and Four Words

Part 1: Renovations; Shaken Foundations

November 1 – Purple Hope and Saints

6 thoughts on “Part Six: Dusk And Summer

  1. jaimiengle says:

    Your book was beautiful, mysterious and very powerful. I hope you are able to get it into many people’s hands! Thank you for sharing your father and your story.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      I appreciate your support, Jaimie 🙂 Thank you. Yes, I’m doing my best. I think that many people glance my book over & rush to think it’s simply a story about my dad. They don’t know what they’re missing 🙂

  2. Thanks for sharing your experience, Joe! Each post was emotional, hard hitting and gives us an insight into how strong your father (and you!) truly was and also how devastating pancreatic cancer is.
    “Never Drop the Ball!”

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you Jon! I told all I could tell… Never drop the ball!

  3. I left my comment on Purple Hope (http://endpancan.com) – Joe’s pancreatic cancer awareness blog – but I’ll say it again here. Although the story is born of tragedy, you’ve managed to find your own route through your talent and voice to deliver not just a beautiful tale, but one I’m sure your father would be very proud of. This is a lovely series, Joe. Thank you for sharing it with us.

  4. Joseph Pinto says:

    Hi Nina! Thank you very much for following along. I kept this series of posts about my father’s fight pretty simple, recounting it as though you or anyone else might be sitting beside me. I’m glad you appreciated it, Nina, as I do appreciate all your support for both myself and my cause 🙂

Leave a Reply

