Joseph A. Pinto

author of horror & poetic prose


HEARD

Silence;
a river running through my head; train
cries in the distance
its solace muffled
much the way I am
unable to find my tongue.
Fog clouding
the window—it’s unbearable
but the droplets streaking the glass
expose
highways, crossroads the likes of which
I’ll never have the nerve to explore.
Still in
my head I trace
a route so blissfully appealing
compared to the
silence
flooding my ears;
the last thing I ever heard.

© Copyright 2014 Joseph A. Pinto. All Rights Reserved.

13 thoughts on “HEARD

  1. poesravenlady says:

    Silence is quite often a magnificent and safe haven and one of my favorite hiding places. Excellent piece– as always.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you very much, Ms Raven’s Lady 🙂

  2. Craig McGray says:

    Reblogged this on From Bright Minds Come Dark Things and commented:
    Heard, a poem by Joseph A. Pinto

  3. May Desert Flower says:

    Silence can be calming but also hauntingly terrifying
    beautiful 🙂

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hello, Ms May 🙂 Thank you for reading, and yes, I agree!

      1. May Desert Flower says:

        You’re welcome and it’s a pleasure 😊

  4. Lost are those who don’t bother to choose a path when they reach a crossroad; the choice is always there – you only have to make it.

    A beautiful poem, Joe 😀

  5. Victoria says:

    Excellent post my friend!

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Victoria! 🙂 Thank you very much!

Leave a Reply

