Joseph A. Pinto

author of horror & poetic prose


handle

Refuge; before these iron gates I tremble. Words, long forgotten, muttered upon this unforgiving draft. Weary fingers graze lips; memory languishes. A song cries. Lost, what once remained. Balm to my wounds, these iron gates I clutch. To twist this handle, to enter into that which I have denied myself… A thousand angels mock my arrogance; their light I have shunned. Tell me godless thing, who haunts your starless nights? My thousand lies expired at last; hollow, barren, crumbled within. Shadows beckon; so soon shall I dance. Refuge beyond these iron gates; blackened tomb. Condemned both by heaven and hell.

(first appeared in Damned Words, March 26, 2013 http://wp.me/p2iKoL-qy)

One thing that my fellow Pen of the Damned members and myself absolutely love are our flash projects – one picture and a hundred words, no more, no less, in which to tell its story or convey its emotion – Damned style.   This particular photograph was taken by our very own Nina D’Arcangela, and it is truly stunning!  Join us every Tuesday for a new telling of angst and horror, only at www.PenoftheDamned.com

© Copyright 2013 Joseph A. Pinto. All Rights Reserved.

2 thoughts on “Refuge

  1. I love the group flash pieces we do on Pen of the Damned. This one is as eloquent and beautiful as all of your work – you do it much justice! :}

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Our group flash pieces are always so anticipated! Thank you, Nina 🙂

Leave a Reply

