Joseph A. Pinto

author of horror & poetic prose


STRAIN

The E.R. seemed quiet
a ruined man coughing up ghosts
sneezing lies of what home should be
an overweight woman bleeding from her soul,
condescending son lamenting his late night
and they avoid my gaze (well they should)
for my pain would serve only to break them.
Pretty nurse takes pulse, pressure
eyes sparkling as they meet my own
“Sir, this may hurt a bit” (needle penetrates my joint).
I laugh, make one thing clear:
“Never me.”
The E.R. seemed quiet
now the pretty nurse choked on ghosts
wheezing breaths where life should be
if only she had looked away.

© Copyright 2013 Joseph A. Pinto. All Rights Reserved.

16 thoughts on “STRAIN

  1. Three words: thoughtful, hard, painful.

    Wonderful peace Joseph.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you very much, Chris! I’m glad you enjoyed it 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on and commented:
    STRAIN by Joseph Pinto

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thanks for the reblog, Jon!

  3. Reblogged this on C.A.Liccardi Author and commented:
    REBLOGGED Strain – by Joseph Pinto

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you for reblogging this, Chris!

      1. Glad to. It’s perfect. I tried to comment on the post but WP is being a *&^% at the moment! This one was freakin awesome. I believe I will be seeing this scene in my head for the rest of the day.

      2. Joseph Pinto says:

        Hey Chris! Yes, WP often acts up at times – such a petulant child! lol I’m glad you enjoyed ‘STRAIN.’ Inspired, as you might gather, from an actual trip to the ER over a year ago. Nothing is safe when I watch it… lol

      3. Joe – The ER always invokes a story when I go. Sadly enough, that is far too often these days lol. Ill post a few of my ER tales eventually.

  4. Tyr Kieran says:

    So much said with so little words! Loved this, Joe, very well done!

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you very much, Tyr! 🙂

  5. Came across your blog! I love your work. Poor nurse choked on ghosts! Auch!

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Sherrie! Thank you very much, that’s very kind of you to say 🙂 I hope you stick around awhile 😉

  6. Rellick says:

    Well done. ER eerire

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you very much, sir 🙂

Leave a Reply

