Joseph A. Pinto

#barflypoet & author of dark fiction


monument

PALACE

In this darkness I have longed, yet only now do you approach beneath my canopy of sentinels. Wordless, though I have screamed centuries for you. Guileless, though now indeed you have been warned.

I shall devour your pretenses; leave shorn your bravado. I am your beast, and under granite columns shall you be reborn. You cannot flee, because I have been yours all along. Your heart pumping with my blood.

Embrace me, then. Succumb to my wild. From this moment on know that I shall be your shadow in the woods. This timbered palace holds a refuge, yours and mine.

© Copyright 2013 Joseph A. Pinto. All Rights Reserved.

(first appeared in Damned Words 3, July 30, 2013)

One thing that my fellow Pen of the Damned members and myself absolutely love are our flash projects – one picture and a hundred words, no more, no less, in which to tell its story or convey its emotion – Damned style. This particular photograph was taken by our very own Nina D’Arcangela, and it is truly stunning! Join us every Tuesday for a new telling of angst and horror, only at www.PenoftheDamned.com

11 thoughts on “PALACE

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Chrissy! Thank you very much – I’m glad you do! 🙂

  1. Wow. This is amazing. I love the line … “yet only now do you approach beneath my canopy of sentinels.” … Wonderful on how you approach us here with your words. 🙂

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Sherrie! Thank you very much 🙂 It’s so much fun writing these flash pieces with all my friends at Pen of the Damned (you should read all the flash pieces if your time allows) 🙂 I always seem to go the emotive route when doing this…but that’s the whole point, just going where instinct leads you! lol

  2. Hey – nice photo you’ve got there! 😉 A great flash piece, Joe. 🙂

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Nina :} Actually, it’s a brilliant photo! Really stirs the imagination 😉 Your photography is brilliant! :}

      1. LOL – I was just playing with ya! ;}~

  3. Hunter Shea says:

    Damned words are the best words of all.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Wuuuuurd (Damned wuuuuurd) lol

Leave a Reply

