Joseph A. Pinto

author of horror & poetic prose


MY OWN GOD TONIGHT

Fogged I am, and still I cannot clear my reflection from what I perceive
in my mind. The water is as cleansing as the voices in my head;
if you stop and listen closely, you will hear them too, beckoning
to the infinite ends. Still, I pause to recollect myself, lather and
reconnect myself –
I cannot dredge this razor into my cheek hard enough. My grief, like my
stubble, falls, only to grow back thicker by tomorrow’s end. Fogged,
and still this steam cannot obscure what I trick myself to comprehend.
On these voices beckon: You are your own god tonight.

ยฉ Copyright 2015 Joseph A. Pinto. All Rights Reserved.

15 thoughts on “MY OWN GOD TONIGHT

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. Souldiergirl says:

    This is brilliant- love this piece.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Much appreciated, Ms. SouldierGirl ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. ramonawray says:

    Wow… This is really good! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Ramona ๐Ÿ™‚ Why thank you very much! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Hunter Shea says:

    Isn’t this what all jersey guys say to their reflection before going out on Saturday night? ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      lol You mean when they’re talking a selfie?? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Love this piece, Joe. Dark and very telling.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you, Marla! And welcome to my dungeon, er, I mean my inviting little nook lol Grab a latte and stay awhile ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. Perfect! I always enjoyed a little darkness…must grab my latte… ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you Chrissy! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

