Joseph A. Pinto

author of horror & poetic prose


REPRIEVE

is it okay if I lay beside you?
because I can’t keep my eyes open much longer
i’ve been pretty tired as of late
and things have seemed
to slow down around me.

is it okay if I cry on your pillowcase?
i’d wash it but it’ll dry soon enough
that’s the way an old ache goes
flowing with the deep thaw
soon parched from summer’s haze.

is it okay if I call out old names in the dark?
the more I speak them the more I’ll remember
not to forget
i’d like to write them in a jazz song someday
sing a melody whether the band’s ready or not.

is it okay if I lay beside you?
won’t be much longer till I see the light
and that old ache flows on
whisper to me while my breaths grow shallow
whisper to me goodnight.

~ Joseph A. Pinto

Β© Copyright 2013 Joseph A. Pinto. All Rights Reserved.

wolf_rule_full_dark_taupe_bg

21 thoughts on “REPRIEVE

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you very much, I appreciate it! πŸ™‚

  1. Gosh, I love this, Joe!

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you very much, Marla!

  2. Magenta Nero says:

    beautiful poem Joe, very touching

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you very much, Magenta! πŸ™‚

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Chrissy! Thank you πŸ™‚

      1. Chrissy says:

        my pleasure to read

  3. Written beautifully.
    As always!

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      I really appreciate that Sherrie, thank you! πŸ™‚

  4. Ranae says:

    Awesome!!

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you Ranae! πŸ™‚

  5. kaitking says:

    That was so poignant, beautiful πŸ™‚ thanks

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hi Kait! Well, thank YOU! lol πŸ™‚

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you very much! πŸ™‚

  6. Rachna says:

    Sooo beautiful …thank you for sharing πŸ™‚

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Well thank you for reading, Rachna!! πŸ™‚

      1. Rachna says:

        And I came back to read it once again πŸ™‚

      2. Joseph Pinto says:

        Aww, thank you Rachna! That’s very sweet! I’m honored! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

