Joseph A. Pinto

#barflypoet & author of dark fiction


CINDER AND ASH

I fucked it all up, didn’t I?
and what I did can’t be undone,
can it?
I thought I held us firm
but
wound up squeezing too hard
now I’m left staring at the dust
and
it’s much more painful than looking at your face
(which remains angelic, by the way).
I’m a prisoner to my own Hades
and
the fires that burn, well,
they’ve burnt cinder back to cinder
and
ash back down to ash
in a recycled mad chaos of sorts.
I wish I could tell you how much
I ache for you
but
doing so would only cause me to
splinter further.
Doing so would cause you to
suffer further.

~ Joseph A. Pinto

© Copyright 2015 Joseph A. Pinto. All Rights Reserved.

wolf_rule_full_dark_taupe_bg

8 thoughts on “CINDER AND ASH

  1. …yet from the ashes the phoenix rises. (At least in my interpretation.) Well done!

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you very much, D! 🙂 Though nothing rose from the ashes on this one 😉

  2. “I ache for you
    but
    doing so would only cause me to
    splinter further.”

    I love the way you explain this sort of pain. Written brilliantly.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Hey Sherrie, I appreciate your kind words 🙂

  3. Chrissy says:

    Absolutlely love this piece.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you very much, Chrissy! 🙂

  4. Krista Pinto says:

    Do I know you?

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      The question is, do I know you?

Leave a Reply

