Joseph A. Pinto

#barflypoet & author of dark fiction


I came for the benefit of a sick woman

this way, I was told
and I paused

I do not see a sick woman, I said
there, look, I was told

and I did

but I saw no one
save a radiant beauty
eyes cut from gems
sparkling
she twisted to rhythm
and good vibes
of joy
and smiled like a newborn

I came for the benefit of a sick woman,
I repeated

you’re in the right place, I was told

so I sat
ate
hugged
became witness to something

transcendent.

it came time for me to go

are you certain I’m at the right place, I said
yes, of course, I was told, and
we all joined in song

I left
full stomach
fuller heart
no longer counting the seconds
I’m dying
but rejoicing in the breaths
I’m reborn.

(for my cousin Paula)

~ Joseph A. Pinto

© Copyright 2015 Joseph A. Pinto. All Rights Reserved.

wolf_rule_full_dark_taupe_bg

22 thoughts on “THIS IS WHAT PAULA TAUGHT ME

  1. Angel with dirty wings says:

    Reblogged this on angelwithdirtywingsblog and commented:
    Moving!

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you very much! 🙂

  2. Angel with dirty wings says:

    So touching and moving! Feel you on this front ! Awdw X

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      *bows humbly* thank you!! 🙂

  3. dweezer19 says:

    Beautifully e pressed. Hugs.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      thank you very much, Nina 🙂

  4. Karen Soutar says:

    Oh, that’s beautiful.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you very much, Karen 🙂

  5. Rosanna says:

    Very touching! Wonderful poem.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you very much, Rosanna! 🙂

  6. Rosanna says:

    Very touching! Beautiful poem.

  7. tony hunt says:

    scintillating 🙂

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you kindly, Tony 🙂

  8. Elena says:

    Beautifully said Joseph

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you very much, Elena 🙂

  9. A much more creative way of looking at life and death. Simple yet profound.

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      Thank you 😊 in my opinion, poetry carries more impact when stripped to the bones 😊

  10. Chrissy says:

    Joseph this is stunning. heartbreaking and real. thanks for visiting me and retweeting my work. much respect x

    1. Joseph Pinto says:

      *bows humbly* thank you, Christina, and my pleasure. I just wish I had more time in the day (or even the week lol) to keep up with your work…I’m trying, though! 🙂

      1. Chrissy says:

        No worries!! Thank you:)

Leave a Reply

